The Breath of Life Quartet (BLQ)

BLQ, formerly known as the Breath of Life Quartet, was originally formed in 1974 by Walter Arties, who formed the group to support the Breath of Life Telecast. The original lineup of the group included Walter Arties, Phillip Grayson, Clyde Allen, and James Kyle, with Shelton Kilby originally serving as pianist and arranger before taking a vocal role on the group’s second recording. The original group released three albums – Plenty Good Room (1975), Spirituals (1977), and Ghetto Child (1979). In the 1980’s the group’s personnel gradually changed as the original members left to pursue other phases of their ministries.


The second version of the Breath of Life Quartet, including Adrian Westney, Jr., Reger Smith, Jr., Myron Ottley and Ronald Woodfork, released the album Come By Here in 1988. In 1992 Loren Mulraine joined the group, which for a number of years included all five members, with Adrian Westney, Jr. alternating between vocals and keyboards. This group released the album Brand New in 1997, and also released a special international recording for their Australia and New Zealand audience in 2000. The group retained variations of this configuration until 2008 when the current group – Loren Mulraine, Ronald Woodfork, Desmond Pierre-Louis and Duane Hamilton made their debut. The current group released Testimony in 2010. Adrian Westney, Jr. remains an occasional member of BLQ, primarily as a keyboardist.


BLQ is currently in pre-production on a new recording project, which will include both original contemporary gospel songs and new arrangements of hymns and spirituals.  The new project will be supported with international and U.S. touring dates, television, cable, and Internet appearances, and radio promotion.  BLQ is seeking to raise $30,000 for the production and initial marketing of this project.  Join us in this worthy cause to spread the gospel in song. For more information, please contact us at: [email protected]


2 fundraisers